Wilmslow Community Award Winners 2024

On Thursday 16th May, the Wilmslow Community Awards ceremony for 2024 took place at Wilmslow United Reformed Church.

The Deputy Town Mayor, Councillor Jon Kelly, presented the following seven awards to give recognition and thanks for work in the Wilmslow community:

Outstanding Contribution to Youth Development:
Category Winner – Lynn Bond, 1st Wilmslow Guides Unit Leader.

Outstanding Contribution to Charity Work:
Category Winner – Wendy Hobson, Bare Necessities Toiletry Bank.

Outstanding Contribution to the Natural Environment:
Category Winner – Andrew Backhouse, Transition Wilmslow.

Community Organisation of the Year:
Category Winner – Wilmslow Junior Parkrun.

Outstanding Service to Community Groups:
Category Winner – Stuart Redgard, Wilmslow CleanTeam, Dean Row Village Hall and others.

Outstanding Contribution to a Local Neighbourhood Area:
Category Winner – Terry Burgess, Colshaw Estate Tenants and Residents Association (CETRA).

Mayor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Wilmslow:
Category Winner – John Handley, Wilmslow Neighbourhood Plan Implementation Group, Lindow Moss Partnership and Transition Wilmslow.

Wilmslow Town Council received over 20 nominations for the awards, all of which were deserving of the highest recognition.

The Wilmslow Annual Town meeting took place on the same evening. Eighteen Wilmslow community groups attended to tell those present about what they do, their recent activities and plans for the months ahead.

PCSO James Morris and Lisa Russett from Wilmslow’s Way Better also attended to provide information and updates to Wilmslow residents.

Councillor Jon Kelly, Deputy Town Mayor, who Chaired the meeting, said, “It was an honour to present the Community Awards and celebrate members of the community who go above and beyond to make Wilmslow a better place.

“We thank all seven award winners, as well as all those nominated, for their invaluable work within our town. We had over twenty people nominated and I hope these awards at the Town Meeting will now be an annual event.

“Our thanks also go to all those who spoke at the Annual Town Meeting to share their activities with Wilmslow residents. Several people afterwards said how inspirational they found the event and all the positivity!

“What was clear was not only the expertise of the contributors but the essential contribution they and their fellow volunteers make to the Wilmslow community which goes from strength to strength. The groups working in collaboration with the Town Council Staff and Councillors are making Wilmslow a great place to live in.”

Top photograph: the 2024 Community Award winners with Councillor Jon Kelly, Deputy Town Mayor. Back row, L-R: Lynn Bond, Wilmslow Junior Parkrun, Stuart Redgard, John Handley and Wendy Hobson and Cllr Jon Kelly. Front row, L-R: Terry Burgess and Andrew Backhouse.
Photo credit: Frederic Houinato.

Please see gallery below for more photographs of the Award winners and community group representatives who spoke.